Crossings notes

The fourth in the series of dot dot dot…. What’s next? “what’s next papa?”

Can the church really be expected to be part of transformation of the community it is in?

If so, what does that look like on the level that looks me directly in the eyes and says, “What part are you playing?”

How is my life reflecting action that contributes to community transformation?
Is my life even even reflecting this kind of action?

Community transformation is bi-directional. It’s not exclusively about what “I can give”, but what the body, being the body actually helps the body to mature – that is that individuals helping to restore shalom in their communities are themselves transformed even more into the image of Christ by lending their energies and efforts to restore shalom. The church is not about ‘us versus them’, or ‘us and them’. Rather it is “we”.

God calls us to a mission of “place”.
Think of Moses.
Think of Paul.
Think of Jesus.

Perhaps a choice not to participate in community and shalom is a choice not to participate or allow God to transform my own life. So what choice have I made?

Do I make my decisions based on how it affects the community or based on self? Am I committed to self more than I am community? Jesus said ‘whoever seeks to save his life will lose it, but whoever loses his life for Jesus, will save it…’

What were Jesus choices and company like? He spent his time with the poor, the down trodden, the broken, the sick, the hurt and needy. Where am I spending my time, who am I spending my time with?

Again, more questions than answers. See John 1:14

It’s so much harder to focus on self when my eyes are focused on what Jesus is doing and be where he would be.

Leave a Reply

